Toggle main menu

Uralla Junior Open Day – August 21st, 2016

A welcoming cuppa, cakes and slices were enjoyed by the golfers and their parents before the tee-off.  Hospitality at Uralla is always a high priority.

A beautiful late winter’s day greeted an enthusiastic field of 30 to compete against the course, themselves, old and new friends. The 18 hole event began at 10am and while they cleared the tee, the 4 and 9 hole participants hit a few balls and had their swing videoed. The 9 hole players and 4 hole players teed off on modified holes from about 11am. By 2 o’clock the whole field had finished and had enjoyed a lovely BBQ lunch, the results were announced.

During the presentation, the Uralla Junior Captain Courtney Dade thanked the club and the parents for supporting junior golf. She also expressed the gratitude of the players to the other helpers and sponsors who made the event such a success.

The major sponsor, Regional Australia Bank, representative (and club captain) Jon Izzard was invited to present the cadet winners with their prizes.  Jon also expressed his thanks at having the opportunity to be part of junior golf and such events as these. He then presented the 4 hole winner, Uralla’s Shy Dodd with her generous trophies. The runner-up, another Uralla representative, Cameron McGann lifted for the occasion. The winner of the 4 hole putting competition was Matthew Patterson from the Longyard. The 9 hole winner was Cooper Smith from Uralla. His consistency is reflected by his success at winning the nearest the pin as well. Only a couple of shots further back was the runner-up Jacki Dade. The champion putter was Aiden Smith (and the sibling rivalry continues but Sam and Jody are very proud).

Our club president, Geoff Wood, presented the winners of the 18 hole events with their trophies. The 18 hole girls champion was Courtney Dade and the nett winner was Mia Clarke. Both of these young ladies did Uralla proud in their manner, etiquette and skill.

The 18 hole boys champion was Jock McPherson from the Longyard. Just 1 shot back was local Toby Cooper. Both of these lads are solid single figure players. The nett winner was Rhys Devney from Moree with Matthew Felton representing Inverell, a well deserved runner-up. Matthew also took home the NTP balls.

From all reports, the golfers were wonderfully behaved, enjoyed themselves, and the parents were suitably proud.

The next event in the Northern Inland Order of Merit Series will be held at Inverell on Sunday September 11th.  We look forward to seeing you there.

Gerard Wilkinson

JNJG Territory Manager

Mobile:  0419 708 676

Add your comments...