Toggle main menu

Under Par Round Required to Win at Coraki

The start of the 2015 NRDGA and WGNR  Order of Merit series at Coraki Golf Club saw a remarkable outcome with the top three players in the Boys Junior Division all shooting under par scores.  Players from Ballina, Casino, Coraki, Coolangatta-Tweed Heads, Lismore, Murwillumbah, Ocean Shores, Yamba, Byron Bay, Kyogle, Grafton, Iluka and the Hetherington Driving Range participated in this popular event.

The Junior Boys Division was won by Kyle Underwood (Ballina) with  a great score of 3 under par 69.  Not to be outdone, Riley Taylor (Casino) shot 70 and Alex Hunt (Murwillumbah) shot 71 to fill the minor placings.  Almost half the field in the Boys Junior Division were off single figure handicaps so the boys are obviously putting some hard work into their practice.  The Junior Boys Division Nett winner was Ty Grace (Ocean Shores).  Ty was a 9-hole cadet player last year and obtained his GA handicap over the Christmas holidays.  Obviously, the handicapper will catch up with young Ty eventually!!  Runner up in the nett competition was Isaac Outridge (Coolangatta-Tweed Heads) another graduate to the 18 hole handicap ranks over Christmas.

The Junior Girls Division was won by Eleka Moore (Ballina) in a tight finish from Maddy Trew (Murwillumbah).  It was good to see a new entrant, Charlize Spain (Coraki) in the Junior Girls field.

Jayme Walters (Kyogle) had too much power for the Cadet Boys field shooting a great score of 43 off the stick.  Jayme was followed home by a new player on the NRDGA circuit, Tyrelle Roberts (Casino) with another great score of 44 shots.  The Junior Boys nett trophy was won by Darcy Nankevill (RHGR) with a fantastic score of 24.

Gerard Wilkinson - NRDGA Junior Coordinator and JNJG Territory Manager (Mobile 0419 708 676)

Add your comments...