Toggle main menu

Record Fields and Sub Par Rounds Provide Exciting Start to 2017 NRDGA Season

The new NRDGA Junior Order of Merit season has kicked off with some exciting individual performances and record fields at two of the first three events.  Our year started at Coraki Golf Club with the anticipated excitement of seeing how many players had “graduated” from 5 holes to 9 holes and most importantly from 9 hole to 18 hole players.  Each year we see a number of boys and girls make this transition and it is gratifying to see.  We have so far hosted players from Ballina, Byron Bay, Casino, Coraki, Coolangatta-Tweed Heads, Iluka, Kyogle, Lismore, Maclean, Mullumbimby, Murwillumbah, Ocean Shores, Yamba, Grafton, Woolgoolga and a number of Queensland clubs at our events.

The first event of the year at Coraki saw an enthusiastic return by 55 golfers and it was great to see 17 players in the Tyro 5 hole event – most of them locals.  The major event of the day was won by Alex Hunt (Murwillumbah) with a score of 74, once again showing that the tight course is difficult to score on.  However, at the next event at Ocean Shores, Alex was again the winner of the Junior Boys gross event with a fantastic score of 3 under par 69.  A record field of 116 players participated at Ocean Shores with 15 players participating in the inaugural Tyro 5 hole event.  Another record field of 69 players turned out at Iluka to see Isaac Outridge (CTH) take out the 3rd event on our 2017 schedule with a fantastic score of 2 under par 68.  Jayme Walters (Kyogle) and Connor Wyles (Lismore) hold a slight lead in the Junior Boys Nett OOM competition with Charlie Dean (O. Shores) close behind.

It looks like a tight race in the Tyro 9 holes Boys OOM event with Jack Ross (CTH) and Sam Adams (CTH) separated by only 0.5 points.  In the Tyro 9 Girls Division, 6 girls are regularly attending the OOM events and a tight race will unfold as the season progresses.  Unfortunately, we have not had any Northern Rivers girls participate in the Junior Girls OOM events to date.

Major prize winners at the first three Order of Merit events were:

Add your comments...