Toggle main menu

2015 Cronulla Junior Masters

The Cronulla Junior Masters was held on 6th July on a beautifully sunny but cool day and 68 juniors teed it up. The kids came from all over and even included a bus full of juniors from the Illawarra which was great to see! The kids still showed their great talent even after a big week at the Subaru State Junior Championships, which most of them competed in the week before. This was also the first round of the new format for the David Hirsch Trophy which is now will be awarded to the best aggregate stableford score of the four junior tournaments in the Sutherland Shire; Cronulla, Woolooware, The Ridge and Kareela.

The day at Cronulla didn’t end without a bit of excitement with a playoff for the Boys Overall Scratch between Josh Armstrong and Dylan Convoy. After both having a 5 on the first playoff hole the boys went down the 9th hole and Josh Armstrong took out the title on the second playoff hole. The Girls Overall Scratch was taken out by Kirsten Convoy.  It was great to see a local junior member take this out. Overall the locals took out a lot of the prizes on the day, the major prizes were won by:

Boys Overall Scratch – Josh Armstrong (The Lakes) 72 (won on the second playoff hole)

Girls Overall Scratch – Kirsten Convoy (Cronulla) 81

Boys Overall Nett – Bon Chan 68

Girls Overall Nett – Lily Pierce (Cronulla) 74

A big thanks must go to the Cronulla Junior Committee for putting such a great day together and for volunteering their time. Also to all the sponsors for the food, drinks and of course the prizes which all the winners were grateful for.

Add your comments...